talib kweli prisoner of consciousness

Talib Kweli Live at Club Soda on March 29th + New Album “Prisoner of Consciousness”

Talib Kweli will be performing live at Club Soda on Friday March 29th, as part of the Montréal Hip-Hop festival. The venue comes just about a month before the scheduled release of “Prisoner of Consciousness”, his sixth solo album.

The Brooklyn, NY rapper set on April 23rd as the release date for the album, which was originally scheduled for November 2012, but was pushed back because of issues surrounding a “Paid in Full” (Erik B & Rakim) sample. He also recently delivered bad news to Black Star fans who were expecting to see the reunion with Mos Def go further.

The album is heavy on collaborations including featurings with Curren$y, Nelly, Kendrick Lamar, Rubix, Melanie Fiona, Miguel, Glen Reynolds, Busta Rhymes, Amber Strother and Seu Jorge. The album may convey a different listening experience with a possible change of approach in the lyricism:

“Maybe experimenting might have been the wrong word for me to use, but just a different direction. Songs that are more focused on life and what people are going through, and dealing with the social conditions in that way as opposed to speaking directly to the social conditions. That’s what I’m really trying to do with this album.”

Though some of his fans were dissappointed by his last album Gutter Rainbows and his attempt to making credible R&B with singer RES, Kweli still has a very consistent catalog with classic records like Black Star and his two albums with Hi-Tek, “Reflection Eternal” and “Revolutions Per Minute”. Talib Kweli is disputably the king of indie rap and has kept himself relevant by adapting to the post-internet music industry while sticking to his signature blend of conscious rap with r&b.

He recently teamed up with Yasiin Bey (aka Mos Def) for a Black Star reunion show at Rock The Bells festival, and they had a stop in Montréal which got rave reviews. Though Black Star released a couple of tracks in late 2011, Talib recently told Peter Rosenberg on Hot 97 that the “Aretha Franklyn” Mixtape is no longer in the works:

“Me and Mos Def were on tour last year, because we were together in a lot of spaces, we got some music done, we did a few songs, and we talked about this ‘Aretha Franklin’ mixtape. So we started a lot of music, but then once that tour ended, we got busy, a lot of things popped up.”

Talib has often referred to the label of being a “conscious rapper” as opposed to gangster rap and other genres, as well as the dangers of liberty of speech in a country led by economic interests. So the title “Prisoner Of Consciousness” becomes an obvious choice for an artist who is strongly defined by it.



1.     Human Mic

2.     Prisoner Of Conscious

3.     Ready Set Go featuring Melanie Fiona

4.     Upper Echelon

5.     Letter From The Government

6.     High Life featuring Rubix; Bajah

7.     Kilo’s of Love

8.     Before He Walked featuring Nelly

9.     Come featuring Miguel

10.     Push Thru featuring Curren$y (Currensy); Kendrick Lamar; Glen Reynolds

11.     Hold It Now

12.     Delicate Flowers

13.     Hamster Wheel

14.     Rocket Ships featuring Busta Rhymes

15.     Favela Love featuring Seu Jorge

16.     Can’t Barely Breathe featuring Amber Strother






Talib Kweli

Talib Kweli’s prelude to Prisoner of Consciousness is the “Attack the Block” mixtape with DJ Z-Trip which came out in the fall. It features production by Oh No and 9th Wonder.



Leave A Comment